Theatre of the Year

THEATRE OF THE YEAR (established 1990) honors a community theatre that has made the biggest impact upon their community through continuous productions each year.  Center Stage Players for the Physically Limited in Tulsa was the first honoree in 1989, for performing nobly with courage and adaptability, using both handicapped and non-handicapped players and backstage actors and workers. 

History:  Many Oklahoma Community Theatres who are members of OCTA make outstanding contributions to their community that are within the scope and mission of OCTA.  To honor the OCTA 20th Anniversary, the 1989 Board of Directors elected to establish an award to go to the theatre that had made the biggest impact upon their community. 

Criteria for nominations:

(1) A current list of Board of Directors must be attached.

(2) Theatre must have had a continuous production season for 10 years and must have done at least 2 productions each year 

(3) Outline of theatre activities over the past years

(4) Note any growth or positvie change in the organiztion

(5) Any contributions to the local community

(6) Any major achievements/projects in the past year

(7) Must be a current member of OCTA.

(8) This award can be given in any year.

This is the most prestigious award a theatre can receive in Oklahoma and is the equivalent to the Governors Arts Award.  This may be given in any year.



Theatre of the Year Past Recipients

2017    Sand Springs Community Theatre

2015    Jewel Box Theatre, OKC

2013    Duncan Little Theatre

2012    Carpenter Square Theatre, OKC

          Gaslight Theatre, Enid

2011    Theatre Tulsa, Tulsa

2010    Shawnee Little Theatre

2009    Ardmore Little Theatre

2008    Muskogee Little Theatre

2006    Grove Community Playmakers

2004    Heller Theatre, Tulsa

2002    Red Carpet Community Theatre, Elk City                   

2000    Lawton Community Theatre   

1998    Town & Gown Theatre, Stillwater

1996    Broken Arrow Community Playhouse  

           Ponca Playhouse, Ponca City                                    

1994    Muskogee Little Theatre                     

1993    Watonga Community Theatre, “The Company”

1992    Shawnee Little Theatre