Oklahoma Governor's Arts Awards and Recognition

Theatres and individuals involved in community theatre have traditionally taken a leadership role in the arts in Oklahoma. Since the inception of the Governor’s Arts Awards in 1975, the following community theatres have been recognized and honored at the annual ceremonies:

  • Oklahoma Community Theatre Association, (Special Recognition Governor's Award 2014)
  • Cynthia Kent, (Community Service Award, Governor's Arts 2014)
  • Chuck Tweed, OKC (Governor's Award 2013)
  • Thamazin Harrison, Alva (Community Service Award 2013)
  • Center for the Physically Limited (Center Stage Players), Tulsa(Community Service Award 1993)
  • Jewel Box Theater, Oklahoma City (Special Recognition 1986)
  • Lawton Community Theater (Community Service Award 1997)
  • Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City (Special Recognition 1987)
  • Oklahoma Children’s Theater, Oklahoma City (Community Service Awards 1979)
  • Theatre Tulsa (Special Recognition 1980-81)
  • Good Times Community (Arts in Education 2009)
  • Lyn Adams (Arts in Education 1992)
  • Jeanne Adams Wray (Governor's Award 1975)
  • Pat Snider, Shawnee (Community Service Award 2011)
  • Sharon Burum, Duncan (Community Service Award 2010)
  • Gina Flesher, Duncan (Community Service Award 2009)
  • Maybelle Wallace, Tulsa (Community Service Award 2005)
  • Jack Liggett, Bartlesville (Community Service Award 1989)
  • Jimmy Vaughn, OKC (Community Service Award 1986)
  • Lil Williams, Ardmore (Community Service Award 1977)

In addition, individuals involved in community theatre as volunteers, patrons and community leaders, educators, and managers have received a total of twelve (14) of the prestigious Governor’s Arts Awards, and an additional twenty-three (23) have received special recognition awards.