OCTA's Bravo Award

OCTA’S BRAVO AWARD (formerly OKLAHOMA SPOTLIGHT AWARD) (established 2009) This award was introduced by the Board for the intent of thanking phenomenal community theatre volunteers.   Member theatres can recognize any theatre volunteer who has gone 'above and beyond' in their volunteerism. 

This certificate recognizes outstanding service as a volunteer to a Theatre that is a member of OCTA. Nomination should state why the nominee deserves to receive this award.  

Nominations are submitted in writing to the OCTA Office.   The Awards Committee approves the nomination application.

The Certificate is mailed to the Theatre who will make the presentation. Should an OCTA Board member live in the vicinity of the theatre, the Board member should represent OCTA in presenting the award.

There is no set number to be inducted each year. 

One nomination per theatre per year. 


OCTA Bravo Awards (formerly Spotlight Awards)

2018     Sunny Uttley, Grove Community Playmakers

2017     Lori Klickman, Grove Community Playmakers

2016     Stevie Farrand, Carpenter Square Theatre, OKC

            Karon Wheat, Grove Community Playmakers

2015     Linda Fracek, Grove Community Playmakers

    Jarrod Kopp, Theatre Tulsa

    Kristin Harding, Theatre Tulsa

    Sandra Becker, Tahlequah Community Playhouse

     Jp Szafranski, Theatre Tulsa

     Teresa Nowlin, Theatre Tulsa

     Hunter Cates, Theatre Tulsa

2014     Dwayne Brittain, Duncan Little Theatre

    Margaret Chowning, Grove Community Playmakers

    Fluff Dixon Smith, Duncan Little Theatre

2013     Tonna Zuech, Grove Community Playmakers, Grove

    Judy Bradley, Grove Community Playmakers, Grove

    Susan Apker, Heller Theatre, Tulsa

    Larry Scott, Ardmore Little Theatre

    Taylor Tucker, Ardmore Little Theatre

    Ben H. Ezzell, Gaslight Theatre, Enid

2011     Ron Friedberg, Heller Theatre, Tulsa

    Sandy McCabe, Grove Community Playmakers, Grove

OCTA Spotlight Awards Past Recipients

2010     Linda DuBois – Grove Playmakers

Fest       George Romero – Heller Theatre

     Thome Cook – Chickasha Community Theatre

     Kathy Buxton – Duncan Little Theatre

2009     David Thompson - The Stage Door, Yukon

Tulsa     Connie Stuart - Theatre Tulsa

Conf.     Sherry Whisman & Karyn Lee Maio – Sapulpa Community  Theatre

    David Gray – Heller Theatre

    Judy McGlasson – Theater Bartlesville

    Vicki King – Grove Playmakers