Jeanne Adams Wray Special Recognition Award

JEANNE ADAMS WRAY SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD (established 1988) is given to those selected people who are not working directly with community theatre in Oklahoma, but have or are making contributions to its progress. It is dedicated to the forethought and stamina of Mrs. Jeane Adams Wray to get our great state organization formed and her continued efforts until it has become one of the best state theatre organizations in the U.S.  She also brought OCTA national recognition before more other state groups were organized.  She was active in University, National and International associations. She insisted however that there be recognition for the quality theatre productions in the Oklahoma communities.  She developed a series of correspondence courses at Penn State University on 'how to start a communtiy theatre' and 'how to organize a state association.'  Through her influence, the first International Theatre Conference outside of Europe was convened in Oklahoma City in 1975.  Mrs. Wray always was seen wearing a hat!!

This award is to be given in odd years.

Jeanne Adams Wray Special Recognition Award Past Recipients

2015    Tom Sanders, Grove

2011    Darrelyn Hoffman, Oklahoma City

           Scott Richard Klein, Lawton

2009    Oklahoma Arts Council (OAC)

2004    Cliff Hudson, Sonic Industries

2000    Phillip Blender, Bartlesville

1999    State Sen. Penny Williams, Tulsa

           Joe Freeman, Oklahoma City

1994    Mark Houston, Oklahoma City writer / composer / director (deceased)

1992    Dr. Nat Eek, University of Oklahoma, Norman

           Dr. Claude Kezer, SWOSU

           Dr. Molly Risso, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Duran (deceased)

           Dr. Nancy Vunovich, University of Tulsa

1989    Dr. Jerry Davis, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater

           Dr. Lee Hicks, Central State University, Edmond

           Mona Poehling, OCTA

           Betty Price, State Arts Council of Oklahoma