Bill Crawford Memorial Award

BILL CRAWFORD MEMORIAL AWARD (established 1988) is given on very special occasions to a person or member organizations in recognition of services and devotion to OCTA and its theatres. This honors one of the founding members of OCTA. Bill Crawford was known nationally for his work as Arts Editor of the Lawton Constitution newsletter.  His great love for the arts came through loud and clear in his articles and reviews.  He always did his homework--reading plays and biographies, articles about performers, authors, composers.  His writings were literate, well thought out, based on a foundation of informed knowledge, not hypothesis.  Bill was always relied upon for his knowledge, his enthusiasm and his wit.

This is awarded in odd years when there is deemed a worthy recipient.

History: OCTA had not previously recognized the contributions made by Mr. Crawford as one of the Founders except through the publication, OCTAGON.  This award commemorates not only his memory but his sincere devotion and his efforts to organize, perpetuate and to advance community theatre not only in Oklahoma but the Region and Nationally.

Bill Crawford Memorial Award Past Recipients

2019    Gina Flesher, Duncan

2015    Dr. Andrew Kimbrough, Stillwater

2013    Cynthia Kent, Lawton

2011    Ronny Jones, Shawnee

2009    Shonda Currell, Elk City                                  

2006    Merrisue Lucardeaux, OKC

2004    Thomas Cowley, Ponca City

2002    Paula McGee, McAlester

1999    Dwayne Brittain, Duncan

1997    Shirlie Gentry, Oklahoma Arts Council

1993    John and Eleanor (deceased) Kirkpatrick, Oklahoma City

1992    George Kaiser, Tulsa

1989    Lil Williams, Ardmore (deceased)                   

           Jimmy Vaughn, Oklahoma City                      

           Jeanne Adams Wray, Stillwater